Find an artist for your event...

View The Retrobates' Profile Page

“A perfectly pitched duo, perfectly suited for my Birthday celebration!”

5 stars - The Retrobates are Highly Recommended 1 of 26 Customer Reviews for The Retrobates

The Retrobates performed for my 60th Birthday dinner celebration at the Billesley Manor Hotel in Warwickshire last Saturday. There were 23 of us, with ages between mid twenties to early seventies, a lot of whom love the opportunity for a dance, some of whom are committed non-dancers. By the end of the evening everyone was on their feet! The duo provided background music whilst we were eating and started their first one hour set with classic rock and roll songs, gradually progressing to more modern music and inviting special requests during the second hour - which encompassed everything from Glam Rock to Brit Pop to modern Indie. Their harmonies throughout were absolutely wonderful, accompanied by very accomplished guitar playing, and their performance was perfectly suited to the venue and occasion, not overpowering but still holding our attention throughout. They're also extremely nice guys - friendly, obliging and engaging so well with their audience. An absolute hit with us all.
 Review Private Party Warwickshire

Janet J

Booked The Retrobates for their Private Party in Warwickshire on 7th April 2018

Review Breakdown

Performance quality: 5 stars
Sound quality: 5 stars
Behaviour: 5 stars
Communication before and at your event: 5 stars
Audience engagement: 5 stars
Value for money: 5 stars

26 more customer reviews for The Retrobates

“The best decision we made!!!!!!!!”

booked The Retrobates for their Wedding in Kent on 24th August 2019

We chose The Retrobates for our Wedding, based on previous reviews, clips we saw of them performing and their price, and they did not disappoint - these guys are absolutely amazing! They were really helpful before the day, arrived on time, set up quietly and performed fantastically. The guys themselves are really lovely - friendly, helpful, undemanding and genuinely nice people; and their skill an...

“Great acoustic duo who helped fill the dance floor”

booked The Retrobates for their Wedding in Norfolk on 27th July 2019

Superb night topped off by the Retrobates! The guys arrived promptly and performed two excellent one hour sets. Communication with John was good before our wedding and we spent time planning the playlist. First set was a sixties set with a modern Oasis style set for the second. All our guests loved the group and dance floor was packed. Highly recommended! Very polite guys

“Lovely guys with great music”

booked The Retrobates for their Private Party in West Sussex on 6th July 2019

John and Harry were fab - they kept their energy going even when the crowd seemed not to notice them but believe me they did! Everyone said how fab they were. Thank you so so much. And Grant at Alive was always super helpful.

“Absolutely Fabulous!! We loved them..”

booked The Retrobates for their Private Party in Dorset on 22nd June 2019

Well, to start the guys were so professional and friendly.. It was my 50th birthday and we were having a laid back garden party with friends sat around on hale bales, face art, bbq, and photo booth. The Retrobates fitted in so well. They were brilliant, musicians with voices to match and a great air about them. All our guests loved them. I would definitely have them again. Thank you

“A real treat and the best part of my wedding!”

booked The Retrobates for their Wedding in Glamorgan on 30th May 2019

I hired The Retrobates for my wedding recently and although the whole day was amazing - the band really were the cherry on the cake! They were exactly as I hoped they would be and the songs were a big hit with all the guests. They were praised so much by everyone in attendance and really made the whole evening so fun. Worth every penny and then some - if you're thinking of booking this band then y...

“They made our wedding reception !!”

booked The Retrobates for their Wedding in Dorset on 5th May 2019

The boys played for our wedding reception after our ceremony and were just amazing. They let us choose some songs and even learnt some for us! They really got everyone up dancing and singing! Thank you both !!!!

“Absolutely unforgettable!”

booked The Retrobates for their Private Party in London on 14th December 2018

We had a great farewell party for our Head Teacher. The Retrobates were brilliant – they kept the dance floor full all night. They played a variety of songs and fitted to our needs perfectly. Everyone loved the band and asked where we had booked them. Overall, the guys were amazing – they looked great, sounded great and made our special reception unforgettable.

“They made the evening go really well”

booked The Retrobates for their Private Party in Kent on 18th November 2018

The guys were really great. Happy to fit in with whatever we wanted. Joined in with the games and were the judges. Would recommend them without hesitation. Got everyone singing and dancing. Don't need to add anything else. We were completely happy.

“Amazing! Easy to deal with and fantastic musicians!”

booked The Retrobates for their Wedding in Devon on 10th November 2018

The Retrobates were so easy to deal with from start to finish. They arrived promptly and set up without any issue. The song choice, their musicality and skills blew everyone away. We had so many compliments, everyone danced from the oldest to the youngest. We are so glad we chose them, they made our evening perfect!

“The icing on the cake on my 70th birthday”

booked The Retrobates for their Private Party in Hampshire on 21st October 2018

Charming guys who were helpful about timing and volume of their performances, arrived in plenty of time and who were unintrusive when setting up and packing away. Everyone was impressed by their performance and repertoire and many guests made a point of asking where I had found them.

There are 26 more reviews to read in The Retrobates' review centre.

Read more of The Retrobates' reviews